SD law enforcement ready for conceal carry permit change

In less than one month, people in South Dakota will no longer need a conceal carry permit.

According to the National Rifle Association, only 13 other states (Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Idaho, Kansas, Main, Mississippi, Missouri, New Hampshire, North Dakota, Vermont, West Virginia, and Wyoming) do not require a permit to carry a concealed weapon.

Starting July 1st, carrying a gun in South Dakota will become a lot easier.

“We will be encountering more people that have firearms that are concealing firearms,” Minnehaha County Sheriff Mike Milstead said. “Many of those will be good people. Some will be bad people.”